Problem with FXi3's

Options
QMGE81A
QMGE81A Posts: 2
edited January 2006 in Troubleshooting
Thank heavens I found these forums because I've been going mad trying to find out what I'm doing wrong in setting up my new audio system. I'll start off by declaring I am a total noob to 5.1 systems. I just upgraded to one about a week ago. I have all Polk speakers with the exception of the sub, and my receiver is an Onkyo tx-sr603x. For the left and right surround I bought two FXi3 speakers. I have them set to dipole, and placed on the wall to the direct left and right of the main seating in my home theater. In order to set them up properly I bought a home theater set up dvd called, "Avia's Guide to Home Theater." When I run one of the audio tests there is a voice that comes through each individual speaker. EX: When he says "Left Front channel" it emminates from only the left front speaker. "Center channel" comes from the center speaker, ect. The problem comes when it tests the left and right surround speakers. The voice saying "left surround channel" and "right surround channel" emminates from both speakers at the exact same volume. I've checked and rechecked all my wiring which all seems correct. Nowhere are any wires crossing, so I'm at a complete loss. For all I know maybe this is normal with the FXi3's. I just need someone to tell me if it is.

Thanks,
Jason
Post edited by QMGE81A on

Comments

• Ricardo
    Ricardo Posts: 10,636
    edited January 2006
    Options
    There must be a connection issue or set up issue; each channel should go to only that channel's speaker. Look at the connections in the back of the receiver; are the FXi3's connected to the "surrounds" or "surround back's"? Not sure if your Onkyo has both, but my Denon does and in some setups you hear the same from both surround backs...
    Check your speakers set up in the receiver/DVD player; make sure everything is in line with the physical setup...

2008 & 2010 Football Pool WINNER
    SOPA