Separates for LSI7 PC speakers

Joey_V
Joey_V Posts: 8,505
edited July 2004 in 2 Channel Audio
alright... the LSI7 are officially here and are on their way to staying as the speaker of choice for my computer... a few more days of testing against the Axioms M22s to make sure I am making the right decision.

so, in the process of deciding - i want to maybe entertain the possibility of jumping into the audio world of separates (pre/pro and an amp).... i am more interested in having the front two speakers amped by a separate amp for 2-Channel listening.

i dont really care for the rears being externally amped at the moment - remember, i am a college student and i can easily be broke!! :D

so i was thinking - going with a receiver for pre/pro (preferably with 6ch inputs for analog outputs from the sound blaster audigy2zs soundcard on my computer) maybe by yamaha ... AND a separate amp for the fronts...

I dont want to spend more than i have to... so lets see some affordable tips guys.. nothing overly extravagant now!! as cheap as possible i guess.... :(

HOW does this all work??? I am completely in NEW TERRITORY! help a fellow polkie to be! :)
Magico, JL, Emm, ARC Ref 10 line, ARC Ref 10 phono, VPI, Lyra, Boulder, AQ Wel, SRA Scuttle Rack, Bluesound
Post edited by Joey_V on

Comments

• Sami
    Sami Posts: 4,634
    edited July 2004
    With a computer I'm not sure if you need a preprocessor. Especially since you're going to use analog outputs. If you're going with a prepro, I would use digital output as I'm sure the prepro does a better job than the sound card.

Get a good 2 channel amp for the LSi7's and cheap 5 channel for the surrounds, connect them to the sound card. Wouldn't that do the job?
  • Joey_V
    edited July 2004
    i can see this can get awfully complicated.... i just want to add a separate amp for the main for 2 channel listening.

i want to connect all the speakers as well to a receiver so i can do movies as well.