Legend Line being discontinued.......?

Options
124»

Comments

• crazy098
    crazy098 Posts: 27
    Options
    msg wrote: »
    Bottom line is when the Legends launched, then the pandemic hit and supply chains fell apart, any hope of there being a renaissance of the brand back into the higher end of audio was doomed. My understanding is that a couple of suppliers in China went under as well, though I do not know that from anyone within the company, but if true, could explain the lack of parts and for low volume as these appear to be, the lack of desire on the part of Polk/Masimo to find alternatives.

To add to this, I have a pair of NAD 2200 PE's that have been refurbished and upgraded by Peter Williams. They were done 2 years apart, one in 2020 and the other in 2022. I'm not an audio engineer so I forget the specific names but he told me that the high end parts he used in my original upgrade were no longer available and I would be getting the last of them in my second amp. He told me he that due to this he had considered charging me more but as I was a previous customer and he had already given me a quote he wanted to honor the original quote.
    Point being that I suspect supply chain issues combined with low sales is the culprit here. Polk COULD find alternative suppliers or charge even more for the Legend series but in the end it would not be cost effective for them. So we, as the consumer, lose.
  • MLK
    MLK Posts: 17
    Options
    If you want to buy Polk products and live in California, buy them after 7/1/2024: