Turntable Mono cartridge?

Anyone here have a mono cart for their table?

I have an extra 12" Gimbal Fatboy arm for my VPI Avenger Reference but I'm still missing the VTA tower and armboard - not to mention the actual mono cart.

I was planning on installing one but not sure if that'll happen in 1 or 2 years, as money is stretched thin considering my recent speaker upgrade.

I had another audiophile offer for my extra arm... I am highly considering selling it and putting that money to good use, only if I know for a fact that I'm not going for a mono cart anytime in the near future.

Does anyone here have a monocart and if so, what was your experience playing a mono album on the mono cart vs a stereo cart?

I have heard a very nice Koetsu mono cart but did not compare direct to a similar level Koetsu stereo cart.... but it did sound very nice.

Is this just a "nice thing to have" but not needed? Or is it a nice thing to top off a good system?
Magico, JL, Emm, ARC Ref 10 line, ARC Ref 10 phono, VPI, Lyra, Boulder, AQ Wel, SRA Scuttle Rack, Bluesound

Comments

• DarqueKnight
    DarqueKnight Posts: 6,764
    edited November 2022
    Joey_V wrote: »
    Anyone here have a mono cart for their table?
    Is this just a "nice thing to have" but not needed? Or is it a nice thing to top off a good system?

This is a personal question that only you can answer based on your listening tastes, listening habits, and whether an optimization for mono playback is justified.

1. Do now have or expect to have a significant number of mono records in your collection?
    2. Of the mono records that you now have or expect to acquire, does the recording quality justify the investment of a dedicated mono arm/cartridge?