Options
2»

Comments

• heiney9
    heiney9 Posts: 25,079
    edited June 2022
    Options
    Happy 50th Birthday!

My first introduction to Polk Audio was through a high school buddy in about 1982-83, sophomore year. We both used to read Stereo Review and send in the reader service cards. Each ad in the magazine had a number and you'd circle that number on the reader service card and send it to Stereo Review and in a 4-6 weeks you'd start receiving literature on your most coveted audio gear.

He had a pair of Polk 5A's or B's, don't remember. They always sounded great and I remember Polk Audio ad's always being memorable with Matt in his lab coat. I always wanted a pair of Polks, but they were pricey and I was a high school student who couldn't afford $500 for a pair of 5B's.

Fast forward a few years to about 1986, graduated from HS (1984), got a "real" job at a retail store in the audio department. My local high end store had a pair of lightly used 5B's for $250, I negotiated $200 and took them home. Absolutely loved them compared to the book shelf speakers I had.

I took them into work and placed them in the speaker room and people were amazed how good they sounded. When they wanted to buy a pair I referred them to the local high end store unbeknownst to my manager....lol. Eventually I helped sell about 4/5 pairs (for the other store) and I got a job offer through a friend at that local high end store.

After that, it was history, my love for SDA and more high end gear was born at that time 1988 or so. Worked there a few years and decided College was important, so eventually went off to college. The 11T's went with me to college and survived intact. I had those for a long time. Eventually sold those to a forum member and bought LSi 9's.