Troubleshooting Polk SDA-2

Options
This is my first time posting to this forum. I recently purchased a pair of Polk Audio SDA-2. These have two tweeters, three 5" drivers and a 12". The left speakers outboard tweeter is not making any sound. I believe this is the SDA system tweeter. The speakers can still create a stereo image but not great. I disconnected the interconnect cable for the SDA system and it seems to image a little better but the left speaker seems to have a slightly lower volume. I am going to start with the low volume issue first. Any suggestions on what to look at first? Something is probably adding resistance to the left speaker circuit or possibly a bad cap in the crossover? Is there any fuses or switches that should be looked at?
Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.
Thanks!
Scott

Comments

• pitdogg2
    pitdogg2 Posts: 24,559
    Options
    They are 6.5" midwoofers and 12" passive radiator.
    So you have the interconnect cable does it fit the socket pretty firm or is it real loose? There are no fuses i know of on those, if there was they would be next to the binding posts. Those should have polyswitches, which act like fuses somewhat but reset when you turn down the volume. Yes they do go bad and they usually trip very easy when they do go bad. Have you removed they tweeter and checked for continuity across the leads the wires attach to? If not remove the tweeter and remove the wires. Be sure to look to see which wire goes where. You can check ohms or continuity with a DVM to see if you have either. If not the tweeter is bad. For the low volume take the passive radiator out and look at the boards for loose wires or caps the may of puked innards?
    Pictures will help as well if you like to post some. Just for reference most disable the sda tweeters any way.
  • FestYboy
    FestYboy Posts: 3,861
    Options