Help with SDA1 tweeters

Hello i'm new to the Polk forum, i have recently acquired a set of SDA1's The first gen. I have a bad SL 1000 tweeter. I called and talked to a tech at Polk and he told me that in order to install a replacement tweeter, the RDO 194 i'm assuming, i would have to modify the cabinet?or mounting holes? as they are different size than the Peerless style? has anyone ever ran into this? I have swapped in a black Peerless out of my Monitor 7, for a test, it fit perfect. he recommended getting a replacement from another speaker company in the mid-west. I haven't run across anyone talking about the actual physical dimensions of the tweeters or the mounting. Maybe i was misinformed? Minor cutting or drilling some new mounting holes is no big deal but i would prefer not to. Any advise or tips on these SDA'S would be appreciated. I know they probably need some crossover work, i'm already lining that up, they still sound pretty good.

Comments

• honestaquarian
    honestaquarian Posts: 3,186
    Welcome to the forum (*and rabbit hole-where we are quite adept at showing you ways of separating your hard earned from you*) ;)
    You might be able to find a working peerless tweeter on eBay or even on here.
  • F1nut
    F1nut Posts: 49,704
    edited March 2017
    I believe the crossover circuit is different for the Peerless. Try to find another SL1000 on eBay.
    Political Correctness'.........defined

"A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a t-u-r-d by the clean end."

President of Club Polk

• pitdogg2
    pitdogg2 Posts: 24,474
    edited March 2017
    He may of been referring to midwest speaker. They sell a peerless like tweeter that will fit the existing cut out.
    They sell on eBay also. Here you go