Center channel to pair with Polk Audio SDA1 speakers

Options
Please forgive the newbiness here. I am completely new to this.

I inherited a pair of Polk SDA1 speakers. bpubxqhdwyjj.jpg

I have a polk cs10 center channel with a blown tweeter but I can't seem to find a replacement for it. Can someone recommend a good replacement tweeter for this.

Also, is this a terrible pairing with the SDA1's? Should I forget repairing the cs10 and look for another center channel speaker? My Pre-amp is an outlaw 975 and my amp is an outlaw model 5000, if that plays into it.

Thanks!

Best Answer

• tonyb
    tonyb Posts: 32,911
    Answer ✓
    Options
    Setting speaker levels are to balance out the sound in a given room, not for loudness. You should probably never have to adjust those levels off of 0 any further than + or- 3db's.

That center you have is not a very good match for the speakers anyway. An older CS350 would work well or even a RT400.
    HT SYSTEM-
    Sony 850c 4k
    Pioneer elite vhx 21
    Sony 4k BRP
    SVS SB-2000
    Polk Sig. 20's
    Polk FX500 surrounds

Cables-
    Acoustic zen Satori speaker cables
    Acoustic zen Matrix 2 IC's
    Wireworld eclipse 7 ic's
    Audio metallurgy ga-o digital cable

Kitchen

Sonos zp90
    Grant Fidelity tube dac
    B&k 1420
    lsi 9's

Answers

• F1nut
    F1nut Posts: 49,880
    Options
    Is that how you have the SDA's set up right now?
    Political Correctness'.........defined

"A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a t-u-r-d by the clean end."

President of Club Polk

• Nightfall
    Nightfall Posts: 10,073
    edited January 2017
    Options
    A single Monitor 4.whatever 5/JR/+/series 2 with an SL2000 tweeter in them.

...or two of them pushed together if a bit of lobing doesn't bother you in HT.

rlGhTMv.jpg
    afterburnt wrote: »