All the Polk SDA upgrades located in one place!

Options
12346»

Comments

• Viking64
    Viking64 Posts: 6,693
    Options
    VR3 wrote: »
    Point to point is the only way to go, imo

^^^^ Truth.

f8c15eyf4935.jpg
  • ChrisD06
    ChrisD06 Posts: 886
    Options
    VR3 wrote: »
    Point to point is the only way to go, imo

I don't know if it'll fit in my speakers lol. I probably could do P2P and just glue them to some non-resonant, light material but I'd rather the convenience and compactness of a board.

I could also always put an external crossover on them which would go hard as heck but that's way out of my realm of knowledge.
  • davevives
    Options
    thank you for your responses! I've been researching how to restore these speakers to their former glory. I think I'm just new at navigating forums.

So far it feels like my first step, after tracking down my wiring problem as F1nut said, should be recapping. Preferably with sonicaps for the tweeters, but not a huge downgrade if I use Dayton audio caps for now. Replacing resistors is good but not as important as the caps, and if possible they should be replaced with Mills.

I have a question about replacing caps. If I can't find the right capacitance when putting two caps in parallel, should I aim for the capacitance of each to closely match, but maybe over or undershoot it? Or is it better to match the capacitance, even if the caps are very different values? An example for the capacitor right before the positive terminal of T1 with available Dayton caps from PE would be: 1.80uf + 4.00uf = 5.80uf /or/ 2.70uf + 3.00uf = 5.70uf. Which one is better? I read a few times that it is better that they closely match each other but I'm not sure how authoritative that is.
  • pitdogg2
    pitdogg2 Posts: 24,585
    Options
    I read a few times that it is better that they closely match each other but I'm not sure how authoritative that is.