SDA-SRS 2.3tl Crossover upgrade

Soundq22
Soundq22 Posts: 19
edited August 2011 in Vintage Speakers
Hi everyone, I am a recently new member (new to forums altogether) and wanted to post some work I did on my 2.3tl crossovers. Being new to forums, I am not very good at finding info on here that I am needing. I found some but just wanted to put out there what I thought may help someone else preform this upgrade or mod.

First of all, the Parts list from Soniccraft,

2 Mills MRA-12 0.5 ohm
4 Mills MRA-12 22.5 ohms
2 Sonicap 5.8uF 200VDC
2 Sonicap 8uF 200VDC
2 Sonicap 16uF 200VDC
2 Sonicap 18uF 200VDC
2 Sonicap 27uF 200VDC

With 20% off sale and shipping from Arkansas to California the total was 219.15

I called and added on some Cardas Solder which is a dream to work with. 4% silver content, 20awg, and it has a 430 degree melting point. $6.00 for 20 feet.

I will post some pictures and info in next post.

Post edited by Soundq22 on

Comments

• Soundq22
    edited July 2011
    First off, some instructions on how to dig in...

The crossovers are located behind the passive radiator on the back wall.
    Reach in and unplug the 3 harnesses. Dont worry, there is no wrong way to plug them back in. A 6 pin, 5 pin and 4 pin with that cannot be plugged in upside down or anything. There is a allen bolt through the back wall holding the crossover on. The nut is glued to the coil mounted on the bottom of the crossover. Just hold the crossover and use an allen wrench to loosen it and remove.

Here is what you will have. Apparently my speakers had an old and a newer crossover. From what I hear, they used old stock as well as new stock on speaker cabs.

• jim 249
    jim 249 Posts: 347
    edited July 2011
    Welcome to the Polk Audio forums! There is lots of info here on upgrades for the 2.3TL's.
  • Soundq22
    edited July 2011
    Here is a picture I found of a bare board. You will be removing the following.