Newbie with questions

Options
Fastmerc
Fastmerc Posts: 99
edited July 2003 in Speakers
Hello Forum,

As stated, I am a Newbie to the forum. I have read over some great info here so thanks in advance. I have a few questions so here it goes. First, I have had the pleasure of owning my current polk set up (listed on my sig) for a little over 5 years. I just purchased a Yamaha RX-Z1 to allow me to get into the DD age, since I only had lowly prologic for toooo long! The Yamaha now allows me to move to a 7.1 Setup. That brings up my first question. What speakers to add. My original thoughts were to find a used set of RT20p's (or 2000's) and another CS350...then I thought RT3000's and cs1000 for front and move my current front stage to rear, and move my current surrounds to front FX....OR do I go for lsi15s or 25s for new mains etc....such decisions:confused: I need some loyal polk fan input!

If I do put some towers in the rear with powered subs...any suggestions on how to wire them...ie with rca interconnect (one damn long run) or just run the supplied jumpers.

I have also had an issue over the years of blowing the 8" drivers in my 20s. Polk has been gracious enough to supply replacements on more than one occasion. However the recommended fix to the problem has always been to turn down the volume to the subs at the amp. I Basically have them set at about 30% and still ended up with a blown voice coil, any suggestions?

Other related questions....I have read threads discussing a set up disk by Avia...Just wondering where to get this. I also suppose I need to invest in a spl meter...Which should I look for?

Thanks again,
Brett:D
Mains: RT20Ps
Center: CS350LS
R. Surround: RT16s
R. Center: CS350LS
F. Effects: LS/FX
Sub: Titanic 15
Reciever: Yamaha RX-Z1
TV: 55 LED LCD
Interconnects:AR, RSF, MC
Speaker Cable:MC
Post edited by Fastmerc on

Comments

• mantis
    mantis Posts: 17,061
    edited June 2003
    Options