Dreadnought Assembly Questions

Options
stogie
stogie Posts: 230
edited August 2014 in Vintage Speakers
I am in the process of building my first dreadnought (AL Y236906 and Neutrik NL4's) and had a of couple of questions. I have read that the wiring should be as follows:

Red/Yellow (right pin) to 1+
Black/Orange (right blade) to 1-
Grey/Brown (left pin) to 1+
Blue/Violet (left blade) to 1-

Does this mean that once assembled the right speaker has to hooked up to the Neutrik plug with the red/yellow and black/orange combination and the left speaker has to be hooked up the Neutrik plug with the grey/brown and blue/violet combo? I wouldn't think it would be directional like that but I'm just learning this stuff.

Also, is the transformer just mounted by drilling a hole through the bottom of the dynamatted aluminum box, then mounted using the supplied mounting pads and hardware? Or is there something else that should be between the transformer and the bottom? Thanks
Speakers: Polk SDA-SRS xovers rebuilt by David, RDO194's, Dynamat, BH5, glued magnets, new cloth, custom aluminum terminal plates with Cardas posts and Speakon interconnect
Speaker Cables, Jumpers & Interconnect: DIY Douglas Connection
Power Amp: Sunfire Architect's Choice Series II
Preamp: Adcom GFP-750
SACD/CD: Oppo BDP-95
Tuner: Sansui TU-717
TT: Technics SL-MA1
Phono Pre: Emotiva XPS-1
Music Server: Mac Mini w/JRiver - iPad w/JRemote
DAC: Eastern Electric MiniMax Plus
Other Polks: SDA: 1A, 1C, 2B, CRS+ / Monitor: 10A, 5jr, 4 / RT5
Post edited by stogie on

Comments

• F1nut
    F1nut Posts: 49,801
    edited April 2014
    Options
    Does this mean that once assembled the right speaker has to hooked up to the Neutrik plug with the red/yellow and black/orange combination and the left speaker has to be hooked up the Neutrik plug with the grey/brown and blue/violet combo?

Yes.