SDA 1 crossover Fuzes?

sswilson
sswilson Posts: 13
edited August 2008 in Vintage Speakers
Hi folks...

Complete newb to the forum and like the newbs over in the computer forum I mod at I'm showing up with a technical question hoping you fine folks can help me out.

I've owned a set of original SDA 1 speakers since `88 and during a recent move the left speaker high end gave out.

I've downloaded the schematics from this site (thanks tons for that!!!) and had an initial look at the crossover module, but haven't actually managed to get it out of the cabinet yet.

First question......

The schematic shows a few fast blow fuzes, but I can't for the life of me see them on the PCB while it's still installed in the case.

Are these located somewhere on the PCB and I'm just not seeing them? Are they a standard metal capped glass fuze?

Second question....

I've noticed that the PCB is mounted (with those hateful plastic "pinch" standoffs) to the wire wound spool at the back, but that the spool appears to be attached by a single screw on the back of the case... does anybody out there know for sure if the screw can be easily replaced if it's removed to get the whole thing out as a unit? (I think that's the way I'm going to approach it, but I'll be kicking myself if it's a major PITA to get back on).

Third (and hopefully last for now) question....

I've tested the tweeters by removing the plug from the PCB and can verify that there is audio coming through both of them, but it's at least 1/10 the volume of the r/h speaker.

I know it's not much to go on, but does that cause a lightbulb to go off in anybody's head as to what the problem might be?

I've got a bit of electronics training, but my work background is mainly electrical/mechanical so component level faultfinding is certainly not my strong point.

Anywise... thanks in advance for any info you might be able to give me.
Post edited by sswilson on

Comments

• ben62670
    ben62670 Posts: 15,969
    edited August 2008