Can you paint Polk Audio home theatre speakers?

bananaboy69
bananaboy69 Posts: 7
edited April 2003 in Custom Fabrication
:cool: I just bought the RM 6700 Home Theatre speaker package, which comes with 4 sats and 1 centre speaker, and the PSW 202 subwoofer. Unfortunately, the place where I bought these only had them in black. :( I would have preferred the titanium colour to match my other components and furniture. I was thinking of buying a can of metallic silver spray paint and just paint the outside cabinet and not the speaker grille. :rolleyes: Does anyone think it is wise to paint these brand new speakers? :confused: If yes, what kind of paint would you recommend? :lol: If no, I was thinking that I might screw up the paint job and ruin these speakers. :D :eek: :supermad:

Thanks for your assistance! :)
Post edited by bananaboy69 on

Comments

• PoweredByDodge
    PoweredByDodge Posts: 4,185
    edited April 2003
    .... well... i'm no pro - but i painted my cheapo towers with some auto body primer and paint and it has held up pretty well -- i went from black matte finish to a metallic midnight blue.

far as whether or not that wll work on your polk cabinets... i have no idea man... but whatever you do , just dont use rustoleum brand paint --- that stuff just peels off of everything... i mean it wont stick to anything. i've had a lot of bad experiences with it.

even a basic krylon 1.50 / can gloss paint will hold up well if u prime under it and then clear coat over it.

hopefully Jstas will chime in... this seems more up his alley, he seems to have built a whole lot more/better cabinets than anyone else in here and could give u the best idea me thinx as far as refinishing cabinets.
    The Artist formerly known as PoweredByDodge
  • sntnsupermen131
    sntnsupermen131 Posts: 1,831
    edited April 2003
    i dont see anything wrong with it as long as you use the right paint and not get any on the speakers