SUB LFE input

amadeus
amadeus Posts: 5
I have a Sony STR-DA2ES and am committed (friend owns dealership) to a PSW-202. The Sony receiver has a screen thing that comes up LFE but the PSW-202 does not have a built in LFE.

You have to forgive me - I am quite new at all this new technology.

My question is this - should I keep the PSW-202 or should I get a sub that has a built in LFE?

Thanks for your help.

phil
Post edited by amadeus on

Comments

• RuSsMaN
    RuSsMaN Posts: 17,987
    edited April 2003
    What speakers are you using for your mains (l/r)?

I ask because you can use the line level input for your LFE out, or speaker level inputs with your mains set to large.

More importantly, how does it sound to you? Have you put it through it's paces yet?

Cheers,
    Rooster
    Check your lips at the door woman. Shake your hips like battleships. Yeah, all the white girls trip when I sing at Sunday service.
  • dorokusai
    dorokusai Posts: 25,573
    edited April 2003
    I have the same receiver and sub, but I don't quite understand your question.

You mean it doesnt have unfiltered line inputs? That's right they are filtered line inputs.

I use the Auto Dec, for normal stereo listening, that way it senses my sub being hooked up. I use one of the subwoofer pre-outs to a mono sub cable(RCA Type - 18ft) then to a splitter RCA into the L/R inputs on the sub.

Your sub is fine for LFE, thats its purpose. I set my speakers to "small" and my sub to "on". Let me know if this has helped you. I am sure we can get you squared away.
    CTC BBQ Amplifier, Sonic Frontiers Line3 Pre-Amplifier and Wadia 581 SACD player. Speakers? Always changing but for now, Mission Argonauts I picked up for $50 bucks, mint.
  • amadeus
    edited April 2003
    Wow! Great help and great response so quick.....

I am using the RM6700 setup.