Take This Job and Shove It!

scottvamp
scottvamp Posts: 3,277
edited July 2007 in The Clubhouse
Well guys, i put in my 2 week notice today. November would have been 15years in the Mechanical Aerospace industry. (Honeywell) My girlfriend of ten years is getting laid off in a month due to downsizing (telecommunications). We are going to enjoy some time off together for awhile. I have been working since i was 16 years old. I have absolutely no bills and both cars are paid off. I will use up most of my 401K but i will talk about this time off for the rest of my life.
I saw a sinking ship and bailed. I see desperation, safety and quality issues. And higher ups are resigning. They just called for a minimum of 6/12's a week, mandatory. 90degree atmosphere, dirt/chemicals, whip cracking production and constantly being talked down to by supervisor's. I have busted my butt to be debt free and make a good hourly wage. So that i CAN work 40 hours a week and enjoy life a little more. I was getting burn out all around and its time for me to move on and start new career.
Good chance i will move to Reno. At least it is more north. I really hope to find something i enjoy doing even if it doesn't pay as much. I'll be 35. For the first time in life i don't know what's next and i like that.
I was hoping that members my age and older could comment on similar experiences and pro's/con's.
How did it work out for you?
Scott:cool:
Post edited by scottvamp on

Comments

• WilliamM2
    WilliamM2 Posts: 4,708
    edited July 2007
    I have busted my butt to be debt free and make a good hourly wage. So that i CAN work 40 hours a week and enjoy life a little more.

I have been debt free for about 10 years now, except the morgage, and that only has 4 years to go. There is nothing like the feeling of knowing your prepared completely if your job disappears, or you decide to leave.