Basic hookup question

Ken1222
Ken1222 Posts: 17
Hello - Forgive the questions I am a novice and need help. I have a digital cable box with Digital audio and L/R audio (RCA jack) outputs. I also have a Onkyo TX-SR600 Receiver, Polk RM6700 Speakers, Polk PSW404 Subwoofer, DVD player is TBD, TV is 6 yr old Toshiba with one s-video input.

1. What is the sound difference between RF cable, digital audio, and the RCA jack audio outputs on my box?

2. Where do I send the cable digital audio to, if my DVD player digital audio out is connected to the only dig input on the TSXR600?

3. Should I get a DVD with optical audio out?

4. If I connect cable and DVD s-video outputs to my TSXR600, does the receiver have to be on for me to watch TV? Should the s-videos go to a switch and then to the s-video input on my TV?

Thanks!

Ken
Post edited by Ken1222 on

Comments

• 19ram98
    19ram98 Posts: 18
    edited January 2003
    1. The digital audio cable would allow you to play your xbox games in 5.1 Dolby Digital (Highest quality). RCA jacks would allow for Dolby Pro Logic II or DTS NEO:6 audio playback.
    2. From the looks of it the SR600 has two digital optical inputs and one digital coaxial input. If both the cable box and the dvd player only offer digital coaxial outputs, then you will most likely need a new dvd plaer w/optical output if you want to use a separate dvd player. You could buy the $20 remote for your xbox and us it as a dvd player and move the other player to another room. 4. Yes the receiver will have to be on if you let it do the s-video switching for you. If you are worried about having to push too many buttons just to watch tv, program in a couple of macros, one to turn the tv,receiver on, and another to turn them off.
  • TonyPTX
    TonyPTX Posts: 545
    edited January 2003
    Originally posted by Ken1222
    Hello - Forgive the questions I am a novice and need help.