Crackling . . or is it distortion??

Options
jrbarnes
jrbarnes Posts: 8
edited January 2003 in Troubleshooting
I read the other thread on distortion hoping that their problem was similar to mine, no dice.

First, I am a newbie here. As far as audio stuff does I am slightly above average.

My system is a Yamaha HTR-5150 rec'r, Integra DVD, Kenwood 5 disc CD player. All Polk speakers, RT5 upfront with CS300 and PSW350 and I am using M3II as my surrounds.

My prob is that about 50% of the time when I turn my rec'r on (doesnt matter Tuner, CD, DVD or just TV) there is a buzzing, humming sound. It comes from all speakers and if I walk through the room with a bit of bounce, the sound crackles and sometimes gets worse or if I am really lucky, it dissappears. I can "hit" the top of the rec'r and get the same results. Sometimes the noise "peaks" and the rec'r shuts down. I have taken the rec'r to three different authorized Yamaha dealers and they cannot find any problem or reproduce the noise. One of them had it for a month . . they loved it so much that the tech bought one. Here is what I have been told could be the problem . .
- My house is not grounded properly, so somehow that is causing these problems. An electrician has checked all the conx and to him, everything seems to be in order. IS there a way for me to check? I bought one of those cheap testers that you plug into the outlet and it said all is good.
- My house is older and they used plaster on the walls with metal grids on top of the old lathing strips to hold the plaster together. One tech told me that my house was acting as some type of electronic field, maybe as a capacitor causing the interference.

I have checked and double checked all the conx and they are all connected correctly. I use Monster Cable throughout the room. The noise does not stop if I setup only the front speakers or just one set of speakers.