New Polks several questions

robert.oneill
robert.oneill Posts: 2
Hello, I am new to the Polk Forum and new to hi-end fidelity. I just bought, Rti70, RTi38, CSi40 and a Velodyne CHT 10 sub. I was hoping to achieve a good stereo and HT solution. I am powering this through a Sony STR-DB 940. I have several questions, please bare with me.
1. During CD playback, (seems to be a waste of the RTi38s, currently set up as HT rears) is it advisable to set these up as "B channel" speakers? any draw backs?
2. Speaker break in...is it necessary to do this asap...or can you do it gradually...I like to break in the neighbours gradual too!
3. Is the receiver I am using doing justice to my polks....or are there recommendations out there under $2,000 Can. ($1600us)?
4. Where is the best place to find info on my sub, Velodyne's on line presence seems limited?

5. Not a question just a comment. What an incredible set of speakers...dollar for dollar I am blown away.

Thanks all.
Post edited by robert.oneill on

Comments

• phuz
    phuz Posts: 2,372
    edited October 2002
    Welcome to the forums. :)

1. Does your receiver have any DSP modes? Some people like to use pro-logic (II), or other "hall" and surround modes to make use of the entier 5.1 speakers. Most people prefer just the two front channels for audio, since most music is two channel stereo anyway. I think using the rears as "B" speakers would be ok, but it could be a pain when switching back and forth from 5.1 etc.

If I were you, I would just let those RTi70's sing in stereo and save the rest for home theater.

2. Some people will say different, but I say just let em break in over time.

3. Your receiver is not bad, but a higher end receiver (or amp, if your recever has pre-amp outputs) will make your speakers shine a bit more. You can get a really awesome receiver for that price range. Check out NAD, Rotel, Outlaw, Arcam, Marantz, and so on. Just remember, get what sounds best to you.