New System - Did I do the right thing

Bob Richards
Bob Richards Posts: 27
I'm relatively new to all of this. I purchased two Polk Monitor's 60's got thePSW10 free. I got a good deal on an Onkyo TX8511 amp. It's two channel since I am more interested in music than home theater also it has a hook up for a turntable. I also purchased an Onkyo 6 cd/dvd changer. I am now awaiting delivery. My question is did I order an andequate system? Will I notice a difference in music quality from what I have now, a 15 year old Pioneer intergrated amp, a Bose direct reflecting speaker system with two additional 301's? I never liked this system much and am hoping for more with this new one.

I also have no idea of which way to hook up the sub. I have no driect input from the sub to the receiver so I guess I run the speakers through the sub then into the reciever. Also will I be able to run my HDTV to play through the receiver, sub and speakers. As you can see I have primitive knowledge of all this. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
Polk Monitor 60's
PSW 10 Sub
Bose Acoustimass 5 Series II
Onkyo TX-8511 Two Channel Receiver
Sony DVP NV800H5 CD/DVD Changer
Denon DP-29F Turntable
AudioQuest 4 Cables

Sansui AU-X901 Integrated Amp
Yamaha RX-797 2 Channel Receiver
Polk Lis 9's
Yamaha 697 CD player
AudioQuest 4 Cables
Post edited by Bob Richards on

Comments

• PolkThug
    PolkThug Posts: 7,532
    edited January 2006
    Yes, it will sound better. :-)

Connect the red/white RCA's from the HD cable box into the back of the Onkyo.
  • Bob Richards
    Bob Richards Posts: 27
    edited January 2006
    Thanks for that tip. How about the sub. I have no LFE capability. Speaker to sub, sug to reciever?
    Polk Monitor 60's
    PSW 10 Sub
    Bose Acoustimass 5 Series II
    Onkyo TX-8511 Two Channel Receiver
    Sony DVP NV800H5 CD/DVD Changer
    Denon DP-29F Turntable
    AudioQuest 4 Cables

Sansui AU-X901 Integrated Amp
    Yamaha RX-797 2 Channel Receiver
    Polk Lis 9's