So this is what it's all about....

Options
amulford
amulford Posts: 5,020
edited December 2005 in 2 Channel Audio
It's been a LONG time since I had a dedicated 2 channel stereo. I mean somewhere along the lines of 15 years. Back then, it was pretty good, but now I have a whole different view and MUCH morecritical expectations...

Well, I've been assembling a new rig for the last six months. Everything I got for this system has come from this little haven. Knowledge has been siphoned from your heads.(notice the echoes getting longer???)

I have decided to go with a tube front end and a sand ****. This would seem to get me the drive I need, while getting the sound and tuneability I desire. This is my first step into the tube world, I'm gonna need guidance...

While I know nothing is forever, I am EXTREMELY pleased with my results. It is not anywhere near complete, but I have the components and yesterday did a half **** set up to check it out. I connected the Pre, CD, amps, and speakers.

It's like having another child. :D I have been getting goosebumps listening...

I took these shots, but remember I just HAD to hear it. I don't think this is going to be the final home. Wait till you see it AFTER I am complete. Rome wasn't built in a day...

The rig will consist of the following (for now):

Pre Amp - VTL (Vacuum Tube Logic) Pure Tube Pre, model TL 2.5

Receiver - Polk Audio XRt 12 Reference XM Receiver (Signature Version) (not in the rig yet)

CD player - Luxman mode D105u with tubed output

Amps - A pair of Carver Silver 9t mono blocks

TT - I have yet to determine what to get, I'll be hitting you guys up for that one, too. ;)

Speakers - A pair of Carver Amazing Loudspeakers, Platinum Edition, with a Carver Loudspeaker Control Center.

You have to hear this , even with the lively room it's in. It reminds me of getting behind the wheel of a sports car and having fun...

Anthony
Post edited by amulford on

Comments

• steveinaz
    steveinaz Posts: 19,522