Connections and decoding - still learning

Options
burdette
burdette Posts: 1,194
Nuts and bolts here.... as an oldie to audio but a newbie to HT, I'm still learning about DVDs and DD and even Pro Logic.

I have my DVD player hooked up to my DD receiver using the digital output and the video out. Pop in a DVD with 5.1 audio and everything works great.. receiver recognizes the audio, switches into DD5.1, I'm happy.

Realized from reading today (and obviously I'm not alone given that several sites specifically address this issue, including Dolby) that just because a DVD says "Dolby Digital" on the back does NOT mean that it is in 5.1. Last night I about went nuts trying to figure out why A Bridge Too Far wasn't switching into 5.1, why I had to switch the player to PCM, and why (Duh!) I was getting sound out of only the two mains... my confusion makes sense NOW given that I thought it was 5.1, but last night my logic failed me miserably and I completely missed the "looks like a duck, quacks like a duck" angle.

So, first question(s), do you have a separate hookup for non 5.1 DVDs, such as using the analog, or do you go in and switch the DVD player's digital output? I have six channel out and six channel in... should I set the player's decoder to PL, connect those outs to my receiver's ins to use for Pro Logic, but use the digital out/in for 5.1 DVDs?? That assumes the pure digital out isn't affected by the settings of the player's own decoder.. a question I'm still unsure of...

A Bridge Too Far locked up last night about two seconds into ANY track when I was trying to play it back 5.1, but all my *real* 5.1 movies would play just fine. Switched the player to PCM and the movie played... does that interpretation make sense?? (I tried so many things last night, I know *something* I did finally got it to play!)