Long HDMI cables

rscamer
rscamer Posts: 70
I have a projector with dvi input , my dvd player is dying and was going to buy one with hdmi output. Problem is I will need 45 feet of cable to my projector.If I get a 50 foot hdmi to hdmi cable then put a hdmi to dvi adapter will I get a great picture? or will I get sparklies I've heard about with the older dvi to dvi cables? these cables also cost a fortune and found a cable for a reasonable price made by stellar labs. Any one have any experience with this manufacturer?
Post edited by rscamer on

Comments

• mantis
    mantis Posts: 17,032
    edited September 2005
    I have no experience with Stellar Labs but have experience with Key Digital cables and video switchers. Key digital makes really high quality video cables of basically any length you need . There quality is top notch.

http://www.keydigital.com/

We use them on all our custom jobs. I have ran there cabls to Plasmas as well with stellar results.

Good luck with your project

Dan
    Dan
    My personal quest is to save to world of bad audio, one thread at a time.
  • rscamer
    rscamer Posts: 70
    edited September 2005
    Just got a quote from key $500 us that would be a fortune in Canadian!
  • John K.
    John K. Posts: 822
    edited September 2005
    RS, although you might not be happy with the answer, your question about "getting a great picture" can't be answered with much certainty. Three items in the home will affect this: the strength of the output from the player; the loss in the connecting cable; the sensitivity and processing of the display device. The cable would generally be the least significant of the three. For a good discussion of the factors affecting the HDTV picture study this.