THX or NOT

HBombToo
HBombToo Posts: 5,256
edited June 2002 in Electronics
I am new to the home theater stuff but it has turned in to a fun past time.

With that being said... THX has me scratching my noggin. I find the additional cost of the electronics hard to justify. If you are not in the position to build a " Home Theater Room ", whats the point. In fact, it has been very difficult finding information on the equalization aspects of the THX STUFF to show or justify the benifit... and why is POLK not rated???? I think the POLKS old and new in my system sound great so how much better can it be???

This FORUM helped me rebuild RTA8"s and even my wife said that sounds good... keep in mind she thinks I'm nuts and does not give a **** about all this, so where is the end. I also just bought a 7 channel Amp @ 200Wper that is not rated.... DID I MAKE A MISTAKE? or is Lucas a genious!

Just curious
***WAREMTAE***
Post edited by HBombToo on

Comments

• TroyD
    TroyD Posts: 13,077
    edited June 2002
    Oh boy....this promises to be interesting....

There are those that swear by THX and those who don't......

MY opinion is this:

THX is a set of specifications that a piece of gear has to meet to be given it's stamp of approval by George and his crew. I'm not saying it's good and I'm not saying it's bad. What I will say is that it comes at a price. GL and his merry little band don't give THX certification for free, you got to pay your vigs to the Don. These costs are passed on to the consumer (you). That's my take on how it works.

Having said that, do I think that a piece of gear should be dismissed because it isn't THX cert'ed? Certainly not, there is lots of gear out there that isn't THX cert'ed in fact there is probably non-THX gear out there that it is better than some of the THX cert'ed gear.