Crossover settings with Marantz Cinema 60 receiver

Options
Cajudos
Cajudos Posts: 3
edited July 2023 in Speakers
Hi all ,

I know that music settings are very personal but I am still new at this...

I have an Marantz Cinema 60 receiver, for front speakers the Polk ES20, center the Polk ES35, my subwoofer is the Polk HTS-12 and temporarily i am using 2 Bose Cube speakers (Acoustimass 10 Series II) for rear surroind speakers

My living room is not big but I am still struggling to find decent settings , when I put my speakers to full range they dont use my subwoofer. When I had my Bose setup in the past everything was set to full range.

Any suggestions on settings for a more true cinema experience?

Thanks for any help.

Comments

• Emlyn
    Emlyn Posts: 4,373
    Options
    I'd set everything to 80Hz crossover as a starting point and see how that sounds to you. That's the normal standard for home theater systems, but it's not the only way to set things up. Speakers that won't provide bass below 80Hz simply won't produce it.

Or, try running the auto setup with the microphone and it'll set the crossover points for each channel the way the system thinks best.
  • ChrisD06
    ChrisD06 Posts: 886
    Options
    80Hz is THX spec and that's what I use. I set my crossover points per speaker to be 10Hz higher than the -3db point.
  • mantis
    mantis Posts: 17,057
    Options
    I would absolutely run small 80hz all the way around. Let the subwoofer do the heavy lifting and calibrate with a SPL meter OR just use the Provided microphone it comes with. Odyssey is pretty good but it's going to set all your speakers to large, a huge flaw with the program. Allow it to do it thing all the way through and then go back and adjust only the crossover settings. All small all 80hz.
    Dan
    My personal quest is to save to world of bad audio, one thread at a time.
  • ChrisD06
    Options
    mantis wrote: »