SDA SRS GEN 3 crossover

I am the original owner of SDA SRS gen 3 and have enjoyed them with many amps over the years and 2 years ago set my Nak PA7 aside for a Thershold S500 which took it to a new level. This got me looking to find out what is available to update these amazing speakers to restore and mod them. In the process I discovered the tweeters I got from Polk 20 years ago to replace the original SL2000’s are actually SL2500! Bad! But they played that way all that time. I have the proper RD0194’s and I can’t wait to get them in. Now all my focus is on all the other mods to the cabinet and crossover. Before I do a complete rebuild on the crossover’s I am eliminating the poly switch and want to replace the 16mH bass inductors. So far the Jantzen C coil 14AWG .16 DCR has come recommended. Does anyone have any other suggestions before I order these? The Threshold can drive anything out there so I’m not concerned there. All advice and guidance is appreciated as I am not an expert here. I’m also wondering where and how to mount these. Thanks!

Comments

• pitdogg2
    pitdogg2 Posts: 24,478
    There are other 16mH inductors out there, Erse and Solen are two. But I will say that you will need to have a good meter especially with the Erse. My experience is they come close but no cigar. One of mine was WAY over the other was just the under 16mH. In the end my guy got them both the same but if you just put them in as they came there would have been mis-matched speakers. For the money I believe you are better with the C-coil. Parts Express now or did carry them at a good price.
  • This is gonna be a cool for me to read as you post.

I’m a recent recipient of the gen 3 SDA SRS’. Picked mine up this past June.
    Great place here for guidance on your upgrade adventure.

I started my modding about fairly quickly after about of a month of listening to them at bone stock.
    I then had the urge to tap into the modern of yore’s minds and, not done yet.