6ohm AMP with new 4/8ohm signature elite speakers?

traxman
traxman Posts: 3
edited December 2022 in Speakers
HI,

I have 2 questions about my home theater receiver and the new 5.0 polk audio signature elite set that is on the way…

My “last” setup was Yamaha RX-V467 (2010.) and 5.0 jamo S426 set, they were both 6ohm in specs.
https://europe.yamaha.com/en/products/audio_visual/av_receivers_amps/rx-v467/specs.html
One detail, my Yamaha AMP is the Europe version, which is locked on 6ohms, and the USA version has and option to change between 6 and 8 ohm.
I’m not an electrician or audio geek 😊 and I can’t find the right answer on the Internet so I will need some help and clarification about two things.
I sold my old jamo speakers and kept the Yamaha AMP. I ordered polk audio ES55,35&10 which are coming soon.
Now you know what I got, and here comes the “problem” 😊

Polk specified that the speakers are 4ohm and 8ohm compatible, how is this possible? From my knowledge speakers and amps are always declared with one figure, not as a range. Or the amp has an option to change the impedance like 4,6,8,16…
So I don’t know what will happened (in theory) when I have amp with 4, 6 & 8 ohms and I connect these speakers?
I know that if the amp is 8ohms, and speakers 4ohms, the amp can die or shutdown if it has the right protection (like mine). I know that in the opposite way, nothing very bad will happen, except the final dB will be lower that it would be if the both components are on the same impedance. And I read somewhere that in this case there may be some distortion in the sound??? This is my first question (hypothetical)

And the second one is related to my AMP and new speakers. My AMP is 6ohms and speakers 4&8ohms. How will this work and how can speakers be declared 4 and 8ohms? What is synchronizing the impedance between amp and speakers?
What will happened when connect amp with 4 or 6 or 8 ohms?