Is a tube buffer a good thing?

Options
So, here's the background on this question. I Purchased the Marantz CD4000 with Ah Njoe upgraded 6922 tube output stage from @Clipdat a few months ago. I love the sound of the Marantz, but the display is very dim (barely visible in any light) and the CD player chokes on several of my less than perfect disks. I recently found a new in the box Oppo BDP-103 for a great price, so I purchased (stole) it. The Oppo plays through everything I throw at it. I like that it can play just about every format of music disk available, too. The Oppo plays well, but I'm missing the sweet sound that the Marantz produced. I was wondering if I could get that back with a tube buffer, but I have zero experience with buffers. Which ones are good, better, best. What I should look for as a tube compliment? Etc. Or should I just learn to like what I hear from the Oppo and be happy with it? Any help here would be greatly appreciated.
Sources: Technics SL1200MKII | SME3009 Tonearm | Monster Alpha 1 MC cartridge | Oppo UDP203 disk player | Nikko NT-790 analog tuner | Musical Fidelity Trivista 21 DAC | Preamp: Threshold SL-10 | Amplifier: Threshold Stasis 2 | Speakers: Snell Acoustics C/V | Kimber 12-TC bi wire speakers | Analysis plus Oval 1 preamp to amp | Wireworld Eclipse 7 DAC to Preamp | Wireworld eclipse digital IC Oppo to DAC | Audioquest Quartz tuner to preamp |

Answers

• pitdogg2
    pitdogg2 Posts: 24,556
    edited November 2022
    Options
    I used a Yaqin tube buffer that used two 6sn7 tubes. It did make a difference, it's not to be confused with a tube output stage. I'm not sure the tube output stage could be the same as a tube buffer. The tube buffer is considered a cathode follower. If the tube output stage in the Marantz is the same type of circuit then it may work.