I have an old Monitor 60 series II floorstanding tower that has a buzzing in the tweeter.

Options
Is there a repair? I've been using these for 10+ years. Theyve been great, i unscrewed the tweeter and verified that the buzzing sound is just coming out of the tweeter. You can see the image here. I switched left and right from receiver and bookshelf and it only happens to this one tower. fijzrhluabh9.png

Is there a simple fix, or can i just cut the line behind the tweeter so i can use my speakers without the buzz?

Answers

• VR3
    VR3 Posts: 28,020
    Options
    Did any of the glue come loose around the perimeter? Usually when tweeters blow they just stop working
    - Not Tom ::::::: Any system can play Diana Krall. Only the best can play Limp Bizkit.
  • boston1450
    boston1450 Posts: 7,453
    edited September 2022
    Options
    @VR3 would that be what they may be hearing ? If it's something else - Is there a way you can swap the tweeter from one cabinet to the other ? That way if it follows you will know that you need to just replace that bad tweeter ? Could this be a crossover issue ? One would think there are plenty of replacements on Ebay - or Simply Speaker - Parts Express or other speaker accs
    Randy/Maine
  • ajtyeh53
    Options
    @VR3 can you expound on glue coming out? I think not, Visually, i see nothing different from the others. after unscrewing it, it looks normal too.
  • VR3
    VR3 Posts: 28,020
    Options
    Inspect it carefully and see if anything has come loose
    - Not Tom ::::::: Any system can play Diana Krall. Only the best can play Limp Bizkit.
  • ajtyeh53
    Options
    @VR3 it does not appear that anything has come loose. Should i rescrew everything and try again?
  • treitz3
    treitz3 Posts: 18,316
    Options
    Nope. Try @boston1450's advice. Swap the suspect tweeter from one cabinet to the other. If the sound follows, replace the tweeter.