troubleshoot no output to speakers PSW350

31y67sacygqf.jpg
I bought a used PSW350 and found out that if I hook up the RCA to the line in, I have nothing coming out of the speaker level output. It works if I go to the level speaker input and run the wires from the level output. but to use the filter line in with RCA cables I have no speaker output. The subwoofer works but doesnt send signal to output via line in. I took the back cover off and it looks like something melted near the line in rca port. my question is, how do I repair this? I have a voltmeter and a basic understanding but since I am a novice how do I trace the problem? I am running the SW from an old Fisher receiver with RCA left and right speaker ports. Thanks

Comments

• SeleniumFalcon
    SeleniumFalcon Posts: 3,452
    The speaker outputs will only function if speaker level inputs are given as an input. The RCA jacks are simply coated with a sealant material. From your description the sub seems to be working correctly.
  • rooftop59
    rooftop59 Posts: 7,952
    sclarke523 wrote: »
    31y67sacygqf.jpg
    I bought a used PSW350 and found out that if I hook up the RCA to the line in, I have nothing coming out of the speaker level output. It works if I go to the level speaker input and run the wires from the level output. but to use the filter line in with RCA cables I have no speaker output. The subwoofer works but doesnt send signal to output via line in. I took the back cover off and it looks like something melted near the line in rca port. my question is, how do I repair this? I have a voltmeter and a basic understanding but since I am a novice how do I trace the problem? I am running the SW from an old Fisher receiver with RCA left and right speaker ports. Thanks

Ken’s got it on this one as usual! The crossover or high pass filter should work on both inputs, but the speaker line outputs are full range no matter what…