2 channel connected to 3.1 setup?

I am a noob at this, so bear with me... my cheap equipment got fried in a power surge recently so I need something new.

I want a nice stereo setup for my turntable and high res audio files. I have a 3.1 setup for TV and movies with Polk LSiM 703's and a 704c center. How do achieve both of these with the same speaker setup?

I was looking into a Marantz pm8006 for music (2.1 amp w/phono), but what do I do for the AVR portion? I don't need anything fancy for the AVR, just something that can switch between TV, 2 gaming consoles, and has clean audio pass-through for music.

Any recommendations? Am I going about this all wrong, maybe I should get an all-in-one integrated setup? Different amp? Any suggestions welcome.

Comments

• rooftop59
    rooftop59 Posts: 7,952
    You have three main options:

1. Get a higher end avr that is voiced more for music than HT, and use it for both. Cambridge audio, NAD, and Arcam are three brands that come to mind. I have both Cambridge and Arcam receivers and they sound pretty darn good for two channel music (the arcam sounds amazing, but it is much more $$$)
    2. Better (maybe) option: get the cheapest avr that has multichannel preamp outputs from denon, Yamaha, or Marantz and then get a used two channel power amp like a parasound, rotel, Marantz, etc. (I really liked a 200 wpc rotel with my 703s in this configuration).
    3. Best option: get an avr with preamp outputs and a good integrated two channel amplifier with home theater bypass. That way the avr just does the DAC and the integrated does the volume and power. Even better if you get a separate DAC down the road and skip the avr for music altogether.

FYI, I have a Cambridge integrated with HT bypass that I will be listing shortly if you are interested…