Auto class D

tratliff
tratliff Posts: 1,651
edited January 2022 in Car Audio & Electronics
Hey polkies. I have lots of experience in class A/B in what I might consider the good ol days. Had a car in the late 80’s early 90’s that I competed with. I’m looking to build a newer system in a car that we are considering class D JL equipment in. A VXi 1000/5 and 800/8. This is new to me but does allow for total active cross overs/time alignment/phase control. I like the idea but would like to hear from users that have used it. Did you see value of the advancement? Am I missing something??
2 Channel Rosso Fiorentino Volterra II, 2 REL Carbon Limited, Norma Revo IPA-140B, Lumin U2 Mini, VPI Prime w/SoundSmith Zephyr MIMC, Modwright PH 150, Denon DP-59l w/Denon DL-301MKII, AudioQuest Thunderbird Speaker and Interconnect Cables, AudioQuest Niagara 7000 w/Dragon and Hurricane Power Cables

Comments

• treitz3
    treitz3 Posts: 18,230
    edited January 2022
    Class D for the lowest of the spectrum of frequencies (especially given today's technology with Direct servo....and even without) is fine. You move up into and beyond the lower midbass frequencies and I may need to take you down by the river for a talk. Catch my drift?

Tom
    ~ In search of accurate reproduction of music. Real sound is my reference and while perfection may not be attainable? If I chase it, I might just catch excellence. ~
  • tratliff
    edited January 2022
    Understood Tom. You speaking from home or car audio experience?
    You might reconsider based on speaker selection. But that’s another discussion.
    2 Channel Rosso Fiorentino Volterra II, 2 REL Carbon Limited, Norma Revo IPA-140B, Lumin U2 Mini, VPI Prime w/SoundSmith Zephyr MIMC, Modwright PH 150, Denon DP-59l w/Denon DL-301MKII, AudioQuest Thunderbird Speaker and Interconnect Cables, AudioQuest Niagara 7000 w/Dragon and Hurricane Power Cables
  • treitz3