Can a 8 ohm LSiM706c and 4 ohm L600s be connected to same amp or receiver?

Hi. I am very new at this and am trying to learn as much as possible. I just purchased a (refurbished) LSiM706c and a new Denon 4700H receiver. I am seriously considering adding a set of L600s. However, can the LSiM706c (8 ohm) and L600s (4 ohm) be connected to the same amplifier (or receiver)?

In addition, are there any recommendations for which 3-channel amplifier to get for these speakers?

Comments

• pitdogg2
    pitdogg2 Posts: 24,474
    edited January 2022
    Short answer is Yes they both can be. Long answer really depends on the receivers ability to provide enough juice.
    Any quality 2,3,5 or 7 channel amp should work fine. In reality you want enough current to drive them. Most amps will tell you both 8 ohm and 4 ohm ratings. Amps that double or almost double the wattage will (should) have ample current.
    Parasound
    Sunfire
    Aragon
    Adcom
  • DapperD
    DapperD Posts: 19
    Thank you for your fast response. I was looking at an amplifier in the $1.2-1.8k range. The ones I had in mind are Emotiva XPA-3 Gen3 and the Monolith by Monoprice 3x200 Watts. Of the brands you listed, would you recommend any specific model (3-channel)? Or any thoughts on the ones I had in mind?
  • pitdogg2
    If I was forced to decide between those two you listed, I'd go with Emotiva.

Sunfire would be my pick. I'm not sure they ever made a 3 channel.
    Not many made a 3 channel I know of.
  • Emlyn
    Emlyn Posts: 4,346
    Parasound makes a 3 channel amp (the A31) but those are above this price point.

The main thing to look for is current rather than watts. For example, a Rotel five channel amp that's "only" rated for 120 watts continuous output into 8 ohm loads will have no problem powering large speakers. That's because the power supply in amps like that has several times the capacity of that found in any AV receiver but ones that cost thousands of dollars.