Set of Altec A-7’s all original!

I just found a pair of Altec a7 ‘voice of the theatre speakers all intact with divider, a black horn with green on the end where the hook up are, and the speakers all intact... any thoughts on what I should pair them with? My friend just gave me a pair of Peavey CS800’s... I’m a drummer and don’t know much about this stuff, but I know a good find when I see one. They were gonna throw them out of an old theatre! Perfect working order, never been used anywhere else. Can someone help me?

Comments

• Sorry, driver, nit divider...
  • mhardy6647
    mhardy6647 Posts: 32,922
    edited February 2021
    Not the Peaveys. :o
    Unless they're very late production A7s, the drivers are not designed for high powered amplification (they don't need it) and you'd run the very real risk of smoking the treble drivers and/or the woofers -- which would be a shame.

Were I you, I would build or buy (or borrow) a single-ended, direct heated triode amplifier using either a 2A3 or 300B tube for output. That will be quite nice with A7s.

The important thing(s) are what drivers are in them. An A7 probably has 811B horns, but could have any of a number of different drivers (maybe 806 family members?). The woofers could be 416 family members, or maybe (???) 515B. All good, but -- except for the 515B, not really at the top echelon of the Altec range. The A7 was basically the "entry level" VOT. Not knocking them at all, though! I'd love to have a pair, although it would be impossible to get them into my hifi room.

The better quality source and power you feed them, the better they'll be.

There are also substantial crossover enhancements for at least some Altec VOT configurations (google "Jean Hiraga crossovers" for example).

My current "Frankenaltecs", FWIW. I use a single-ended 2A3 amplfier (Joeseph Esmilla's "Simple 2A3", slightly modified. I do use a (powered) subwoofer.

50515514703_7d04b48acb_b.jpgDSC_0938 (3) by Mark Hardy, on Flickr