SDA2 B crossover question

alandharper
alandharper Posts: 40
edited January 2021 in Vintage Speakers
Hello all. I am new to these speaker, although I have done a bit or reading in this forum. Where to start. I got my pair a month or so ago. No Interconnect cable so I made one. I checked it for continuity and all was well. I also checked my amp for common ground It was. These are pin blade. When I used the blade, it was clearly not good. Something was grounded that shouldn't be. I was going to do a recap, so I started taking them apart. The blade of the interconnect is clearly wired to the ground of the speaker connects. I checked the interconnects from the inside and nothing was accidentally grounded. My confusion grew much worse when I checked continuity on the P3 section of the crossover board. There is continuity between + and -. I am lost. I should add that with the blade of the interconnect cable was not used, but the pin was, they sounded fine. I am lost and hoping for some clarity. Thanks in advance guys.
Post edited by [Deleted User] on

Comments

• F1nut
    F1nut Posts: 49,704
    When using the AI-1 or Dreadnought isolation transformer the blade connection is used. In your case all you need is the pin connection as long as you are 100% certain your amp is common ground.

Political Correctness'.........defined

"A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a t-u-r-d by the clean end."

President of Club Polk