Calling experienced pool owners

Comments

• gmcman
    gmcman Posts: 1,739
    edited September 2020
    I'm no pool expert, but have a buddy with an inground pool with hot tub adjacent to the pool, not free standing. Pool is about 16 ish by 40 ish, not sure.
    He says his gas bill when heating the pool is about $400 per month, just for the pool.
    I don't understand how a heat pump would be cheaper, but curious to know.
  • jeremymarcinko
    jeremymarcinko Posts: 3,785
    edited September 2020
    The way it was explained to me is that the electric heat pump is more efficient but cannot create as many btu overall.

So a typical gas heater has an efficiency rating of 82. So it loses 18% of the heat it creates ie. not transferred to the pool water. But it can make more heat units than a heat pump. So if the gas heater produces 250k btu your only getting 205k btu to the water.

I think of it like bhp of an engine compared to rwhp of the car.

The heat pump if much more efficient as it can create 3-4 usable units of heat for each unit of electricity consumed, but it isn’t capable of producing the amount of btu as the gas heater. A typical heat pump makes about 130k btu.

So the trade off is making the pool hotter faster because the higher btu of the gas heater but done less efficiently and costs more for the wasted energy/heat/fuel.

Or the pool takes longer to heat with a heat pump but costs much less because of the efficient operation of the heat pump.

Another aspect we had to consider though is heat loss of the pool itself and if the lower output of the heat pump can effectively heat the pool when ambient temperatures drop and cross winds cool off the water. Our conclusion was the gas heater is a more effective heater but you’ll pay for it, but in conjunction with a solar blanket to insulate the pool the heat pump will maintain the pool temps we need and still be much cheaper to operate.