Best and worse jobs you have had....

2»

Comments

• Being laid off in the winter months and working on my own projects is my best job. The other 8 months of the year spent working in the asphalt paving industry are the worst.

Woah cool, another paving guy on here!

For me worst job was IT consulting
    Best job asphalt work!

Kind of had an "Office Space" moment 11 years ago
  • mrbiron
    mrbiron Posts: 5,711
    Giver

Taker

:D
    Where’s the KABOOM?!?! There’s supposed to be an Earth shattering KABOOM!!!
  • Milito
    Milito Posts: 1,907
    edited July 2020
    Jstas wrote: »
    Milito wrote: »
    jstas I worked as a mechanic's helper one Summer and the head mechanic played a joke on me. He didn't tell me I needed to release the pressure on a hydraulic system before I worked on it and got sprayed with hydraulic fluid. He got a big laugh out of that.

I was going to get him back, but I had to go back to college in a few weeks and never got the chance.

I also got to play with big trucks as I sold Peterbilt trucks during my sales career. Those big Pete's rode almost as well as a car and would haul 80,000 lbs over 100 MPH, not that I recommend that as only a fool would do that.

Practical jokes were pretty common. Everything from someone deliberately parking a truck on one of my hoses to the acetylene in a rubber glove while working with a torch or welding mask on. I didn't fall for much and when I did it was usually 'cause I was tired. But we worked with hydraulic systems all the time so I got sprayed often just trying to repair something. Most of my repair time was spent pulling broken hydraulic hoses and then taking them down the street to Pardo's who would repair them for us. Then I'd get to go pick them all up. At least I got free coffee and donuts out of that!