Hey all! New SDA-2A owner looking for preamp help

Hi everyone!

I'm fairly new to the Polk world, and very new to the SDA side of it, but wanted to introduce myself and my setup, with hopes of maybe also getting some advice.

First, a brief history: I have been doing the whole proper stereo system thing for all of... 18 months. It started with a Sony mid-fi receiver from the 90's and some cheap technics, then upgraded to an Adcom GFA 535II and GFP 555 and Energy 3.1e's. And then on a whim I bought a set of Polk Monitor 5's, expecting nothing and getting everything in return. I had them for the last 11 months or so, with the thought process of upgrading to Monitor 7's, and then I learned about the SDA line and my desire to hear them went crazy. Luckily, about 3 weeks ago I found a set of SDA-2A's on Facebook Marketplace that were in great condition but missing a tweeter without a price. Messaged the seller, offered $65, he accepted and week and a half later I went and picked them up. Pulled the tweeter out of my Monitor 5 and it sounded great. I also picked up an Adcom 545II around the same time, and thankfully I did as the extra power seems to be needed to drive these. My SDA cord should be here later today so I'm excited to finally properly hear em.

Now, onto my preamp question. I know the GFP 555 isn't exactly the most musical preamp. It is fine, just a bit... boring in my opinion, and it's the next piece in my set I'm looking to upgrade. Ideally I'd like to spend in the $300 range. I've read the Adcom GFP 750 pairs very well with this amp, but I can't really find one anywhere. What else can I expect to find in this price range?

Also, I'll post some pictures later tonight when I get home!

Comments

• Nightfall
    Nightfall Posts: 10,042
    edited October 2019
    B&K
    Parasound
    afterburnt wrote: »
    They didn't speak a word of English, they were from South Carolina.

Village Idiot of Club Polk
  • JGaph
    JGaph Posts: 15
    Nightfall wrote: »