Are the Dared SL2000a and Yamaha m85 a poor pairing?

thejazzmarauder
thejazzmarauder Posts: 16
edited October 2019 in 2 Channel Audio
I’m relatively new to high(er) end audio and know very little about anything. I recently got a Yamaha m85 to pair with my Dared pre, and it seems lacking in the lower frequency range. Not much bass presence (partly a product of my speakers, to be sure) and kick/bass drums that sound almost muffled. It definitely sounds like there’s more there somewhere.

I also noticed that, when I first tested out the Yamaha, the guy was able to get it loud enough that it was very uncomfortable to listen to, and still had some headroom. I can get it relatively loud, with the dial on my Dared @ 12 o’clock, but it’s nowhere near as loud as when I heard it initially (in a diff system, I know). Now, I never need to listen at that insane volume, but thought it might be relevant.

I’m fairly sure that the Yamaha is in good condition. FWIW, it’s driving a pair of Thiel CS1.5s.

Is this a poor pairing? I know I’ve read some about matching up impedances, but it went a bit over my head.

Thanks for the input!

Comments

• F1nut
    F1nut Posts: 49,708
    edited October 2019
    Your pre amp may not have enough voltage output to properly drive your amp.
    Political Correctness'.........defined

"A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a t-u-r-d by the clean end."

President of Club Polk

• tonyb
    tonyb Posts: 32,902
    Good point ^^

Also, the tubes in the Dared may not be that great. Your cables could be lacking in quality also. Everything has a certain sound signature to it, it's kinda like a recipe to find the right sound sigs between gear to get the sound you like.
    HT SYSTEM-
    Sony 850c 4k
    Pioneer elite vhx 21
    Sony 4k BRP
    SVS SB-2000
    Polk Sig. 20's
    Polk FX500 surrounds

Cables-