Newb restore Monitor 10A

Hi all Im new here. I have a pair of monitor 10As with the peerless tweeters in a pretty set of cabinets I would like to restore. Im just getting started with this project and I've been putting it off a little intimidated by the possibilities of it.
k3kz2i6v8mgc.jpg

Both the grills look like their in great shape. These were gifted to me years ago by an older guy whose wife was making him throw out his old equipment for a smaller surround sound system. She wouldn't let him keep these in the closet anymore along with a laserdisc player and an old JVC stereo receiver. One speaker worked but the other was quiet. They came with stands but those might of been lost over the years. After over a decade of sitting in the garage I dusted them off and I would like to restore them. I didn't really know much about them until recently. He seemed really interested in having me fix these even then but this was before the internet was much of a thing.

One driver is frozen.
The tweeters don't seem to be working. I bought some new fuzes and replaced but not much luck yet. I would like to know how to test the tweeters independent of everything else.
Then at least I would know its only the wiring or the caps?
The other drivers need to be repaired with some glue on the rubber surrounds.
Caps...I might like to have upgraded by someone else.
I don't really know what I'm doing but I would like to get them going again and Im patient about it. This is sort of a winter project. I am in No rush.

Theirs probably more info on the forum but I wanted to say hi and show what I might be working on this winter. If the tweeters and other drivers work It seems worth the price of restoring these. If anything I think it would be fun and a good place to start learning more about speakers.

If anyone knows of a quick way to test these tweeters that would be a big help.
I will be digging through the forum for more info when I have time.
Thanks,
Dusty

Comments

• F1nut