I've been here off and on for a while and now have some questions/statements.

I just jot my RD0198 from Sam and installed them on the left channel so see how much of a difference I might detect between 198 and 3000's, not much guys.

My 2.3 are in very good shape and was hyped about the upgrade.

I have a Yamaha M65 which seemed a little weak, so I got a Carver TFM 25 which livened things up, but mot so much with the 198's. Have to be honest, my friends Carver Platinums and Amazing Silvers :D

Also, according to the instructions, if I paraphrase correctly, state, to test weather the interconnect and sda effect is working, press the mono button and move balance left to right etc. I did so and got the desired result. But to be honest, I'm not getting the wow factor that everyone is talking about.

I'm not technical in any way but have pretty good ears and enjoy a variety of music.

I'm in Calgary Canada.

Comments

• Schurkey
    Schurkey Posts: 2,100
    edited September 2019
    peterdulux wrote: »
    My 2.3 are in very good shape
    You've replaced the ancient capacitors in the crossovers? Generally recommended to replace the resistors, and at least the SDA inductor as well.

Cabinet stuffing pulled up where it belongs? No air leaks (push-test results are acceptable?)

Speakers are set-up properly in the room? No toe-in as needed with the Carver speakers. Typically within a few inches of the wall behind them, and 3+ feet from side-walls.

All three tweeters in each cabinet are functional? A paper-towel or **** cardboard core can help isolate the individual tweeters to check that they work.
  • nooshinjohn
    nooshinjohn Posts: 25,034
    Need more info about how you have them set up. Also, the Carver amp was good, but still way under-powered for driving the 2.3TL's. The tweets are not a subtle upgrade, and you are not hearing what they can do if you have a blended sound from a set of SL3K's in one speaker and RDO's in the other.