LSim 707 For a custom home theater

diverdog
diverdog Posts: 27
I was on the fence about these but at $855 and free shipping they are a tremendous value. I just bought 3 707s and 6 703's for an 9.2.4 Atmos home theater I'm building. Center channel will be a 707 behind the 115" diag screen. left and right 707's will be in the room flanking the screen. These will be my first Polk's ever. I won't have the room ready for 6 months so I'll replace the Infiniti towers I have in my living room with the 707's to break them in and give a critical long term listen.

Some of the other speakers I was considering are Martin Logan 60XT and Golden Ear Triton 1.

I'm an engineer that owned a pro audio design build company for many years. I will be doing all of the design, construction, acoustical treatment and installation myself. I have a new semi custom house with a dedicated room for the theater. They eliminated the windows and a door that opened to a courtyard and installed two extra 20 amp power circuits, #12 wire to the speaker locations and balanced twisted pair to multiple sub locations. The room is 19.5' wide by 19' deep with 10 ' ceilings. I wanted 12' ceilings but the same house with 12' was $200k more! I'll be constructing a new wall in the front of the room 2' out to make the room 17'x19.5. It will also give me room for the 707 behind the screen. Viewing distance will be ~10'. All of the walls and ceiling will be damped with an ASC wall damping system. I'm not concerned too much about noise transmission but I want the walls and ceilings to act as diaphragmatic bass absorbers and to be properly damped so they don't re radiate bass back into the room.