Problems with Tech - support

*Greetings! - To those it may concern, may I start off by saying that I am a novice in the audiophile world and as I just begin to dip my toes in, I am looking back to a Harmon Kardon AVR300 (old) and a pair of Polk Audio R40s which were purchased years ago as a high school gift for me. I never got around to use them and they have traveled with me all around the country because I knew the name was a good one. I recently began making my own IEMS and form this I decided I needed better home audio as well. Skip 10+ years and I am actually going to use them now, I admit it was ridiculous to lug them from Oregon to California to Illinois. But here I am...and I have always been someone who invests in quality and appreciates better things.
I plugged everything in and calibrated/configured things to work through he AVR300 using a cd channel with RCA. After a Few days and much gained knowledge I learned about DACs (like the dragonfly) for portable and consumer grade products to get that better conversion out of the overpriced iPad I own. It eventually dawned on me that polk has been in the industry for many years and might be able to tell me what was in these speakers or how to diagnose it.
I knew the speakers were old and regardless of lack of use and that they were unlikely to be covered under warranty this was not my motivation. I called in and spent 1 hour on the phone with a very helpful gentleman who took time to give me some pointers as well as some of the qualities that sets polk apart form other makers. This was an incredibly gainful interaction. The general internet is wrought with misinformation and either too much or too little details to get anything effective without an arduous attempt.