Preamp Question - Worth it?

This is a total newbie question, but are the improvements in sound and performance worth the upgrade?

If I were to have a receiver hooked up with external amps, is it worth it at that point to go out and buy a preamp instead?

I know with a lot of audio its subjective. But is there an objectively increase in sound?

Yes I do understand most people dont listen at refrence levels, and if you dont listen at loud volumes it doesn't matter much to begin with. I'm just curious if its more of a snake oil type of things or an actual jump in quality. Thanks again as always
Home Theater Setup
  • Receiver - Onkyo TX-RZ1100
  • Mains - Polk RTi A9's
  • External Amps - Outlaw 2200 Monoblocks for L/R/C
  • Center - Polk CSiA6
  • Side Surrounds - Polk FXiA6's
  • Atmos - 4 Polk 80F/X RT's
  • Sub - SVS PC-4000
  • T.V. - LG OLED65C7P

Comments

• Theheadsn
    Theheadsn Posts: 413
    Clipdat wrote: »
    Theheadsn wrote: »
    Yes I do understand most people dont listen at refrence levels, and if you dont listen at loud volumes it doesn't matter much to begin with.

I completely disagree with this statement.

I should have been more specific on what I meant with "it doesnt matter"
    Obviously clean power is always preferred, and you dont need much to produce quality sound.
    What I meant to say was if you are trying to fill a large space full of sound and need to raise the volume up high, having a dedicated amp helps greatly. Most people though dont have huge spaces to fill, so they dont need to turn the volume up as loud, which means you wouldn't ever get close enough to clipping levels. Not saying thats the rule though
    Home Theater Setup
    • Mains - Polk RTi A9's
    • Center - Polk CSiA6
    • Sub - SVS PC-4000
    • T.V. - LG OLED65C7P

• Theheadsn
    Clipdat wrote: »
    And yes, a well designed dedicated stereo preamplifier will almost always outperform a HT receiver or processor acting as a preamp.

But in what ways specifically?