Auralic Aries compared to Aries Mini

pglbook
pglbook Posts: 2,163
edited June 2019 in Going Digital
What is the difference between an Auralic Aries (the non-Mini, non-LE version; with external psu and 2 femto clocks) and Aries Mini? I have been looking to get an Aries Mini but they are incredibly scarce on the used market. The Aries seems a little easier to find but would be around $350-$400 more than a Mini (if found). Is the Aries worth the extra money? Would it be a big step up in sound quality and design over the Mini? Thanks.

I recently got a North Star Excelsio DAC and am looking for a good streamer that won't break my bank. I am a total digital music newbie and would just like to get a nice streamer that is not too expensive in order to get my feet wet in the digital music universe.

Does it make sense to pay $825 for a used Aries or should I just save up the money for a new model like the Aries G1 or Lumin U1 Mini (which couled take some time because I believe they are both around $2k new ).

Thanks for your suggestions.

Comments

• pglbook
    Thanks, Skip. As always, great advice. Much appreciated.

I would love to get the new Aries G1 or Lumin U1 Mini, but those are around $2k new, correct? if so, that would be beyond my present budget. Although I assume that the G1 and U1 Mini would both be a big step up from the Aries, correct?

• pglbook
    I just closed the deal on the Aries! $800 cash and local pickup. The Seller was less than 2 hours from me and we agreed to meet this weekend at a location only half an hour from me.

I am happy...but also a bit stressed at spending that kind of money (although I think I got a very good deal) and also a bit nervous about how much I now have to learn.

But all is good.

Thanks to all for the support and for answering my (many) questions!
    And, be forewarned, I will have many more once I get the Aries, ha.

Thanks again. It is greatly appreciated!
  • erniejade
    erniejade Posts: 6,288