Upgrading my 1981 Monitor 7 Speakers?

Hi,
This is my first time posting to this forum. Briefly, I am the original owner of a pair of Polk Monitor 7 speakers bought in 1981, and carefully attended to ever since. They are in excellent physical condition, albeit the tweeter and woofers have a few particles of lint stuck to their surfaces, but otherwise they're in fine shape.

I have always enjoyed listening to music (mainly jazz) through these speakers that are powered by my Conrad Johnson SA250 amp and SC26 preamp, but wonder if it may be time to upgrade the Polks. After all, the capacitors in their crossover circuits are nearly 4 decades old. I do a lot of hobby electronics, so I'm confident that I could do a change out to new caps and resistors if needed, but my question to you is will the new components improve the sound quality? I am particularly curious to know if I can do anything to improve bass response (i.e., some call this bass tightness) and sonic separation.

I appreciate your thoughts on this or other upgrades to my Monitor 7s, and thank you for your time.

Bob

Comments

• pitdogg2
    pitdogg2 Posts: 24,475
    It sure wouldn't hurt as they are way past their prime. Sonicaps and Vishay-mills resistors are favored by quite a few here. Clarity caps are also a good choice. Most will replace their 5watt resistors with a 10 or 12 watt version keeping the original ohm value. you may need to get creative as the film caps will be much larger than the old NP electrolytic