Polk Audio RM705 Center Channel Upgrade. CS10 or S35?

Hello everyone. I am a relatively newbie here who is seeking for some helps :P Recently I am thinking to upgrade my living room surround sound setup. I have the Polk Audio RM705 5.1 system and am thinking to upgrade the center channel along with a receiver. I will be going with Yamaha V583BL for the receiver but still have not decided which center channel should I go for. I am considering Polk CS10 for budget reason. Is this center channel worth upgrading to? I might be able to spend a bit more on S35 but is it worth the extra cash? Or should I upgrade the front L/R instead? Any recommendation is appreciated! Thanks!

Comments

• Jimbo18
    Jimbo18 Posts: 2,310
    Welcome to the Forum, Charlie.

In order to give the best advice, some questions members will want answered are, what size is your listening room? What is your budget? How will the system be used, mostly music or TV/movies? What receiver are you using to power your system now?
  • rooftop59
    rooftop59 Posts: 7,952
    Seems like you are more interested in general advice for upgrading, so here goes: first, I would save up for an AVR with preouts which allows you to upgrade in the future and is usually more powerful and feature rich to begin with. Check out accessories4less.com. Second, the center is very important for home theater, but there really is not reason to by speakers new over used. They do not age like electronics do (I mean, eventually the crossovers need refreshed, but that's like 25-30 years down the road). Right now you can find RTiA series pretty heavily discounted, and that series has a big bad center. I would look for either an CSi5 or a CSiA6. But make sure you can fit them because they are BIG! Then save up to match the mains down the road.

That, at least, is my advice. Good luck!