“Sniping” apps - what works best?

daddyjt
daddyjt Posts: 2,305
I’m new to the practice of using a “sniping” app to win Ebay items. Curious which one(s) works the best - there’s something I’d like to win this evening:-)

Thanks in advance for any suggestions...
"Conservative Libertarians love the country, progressive leftists love the government." - Andrew Wilkow

“Human beings are born with different capacities. If they are free, they are not equal. And if they are equal, they are not free.”
― Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn

Comments

• Emlyn
    Emlyn Posts: 4,346
    There is no guarantee any of them really work. After all, does it make sense that only one person is using such a service and will get the highest bid when others are using the same thing? Just bid the amount you are comfortable with bidding and add two cents. :)

Ebay really has no control over proxy bidding which can drive up a price and leave someone who is using a bidding service paying more than they should. That may be one of the many reasons they put in the "Make an offer" feature years ago.

I still use Ebay occasionally and look around for the best price/condition and then contact the seller to make an offer or just "Buy it now."
  • rooftop59
    rooftop59 Posts: 7,952
    I still use eBay pretty regularly, and have used a snipping service in the past, but yes at this point it’s not so helpful. The key on eBay is not to become fixated on any single item because chances are either someone else will get it or you’ll pay waaayyy more than you intended. Instead I just keep my eyes peeled for good deals on things I’m interested in...
    Living Room 2.2: Usher BE-718 "tiny dancers"; Dual DIY Dayton audio RSS210HF-4 Subs with Dayton SPA-250 amps; Arcam SA30; Musical Fidelity A308; Sony UBP-x1000es; Squeezebox Touch with Bolder Power Supply
    Game Room 5.1.4: