DIY Pedicab sound system. Looking for some help!

jacobcammack
jacobcammack Posts: 19
edited March 2019 in DIY, Mods & Tweaks
Greetings. New to all things audio and been learning a lot I didn't know. That said I still don't feel like I know anything. :)

I'm a pedicab driver and having a really nice 6-seater built right now. It's a really nice motorized cab and the icing on the cake will be awesome lighting and a sick sound system. Here's a photo of what it will look like:

tz56e1emedlh.jpg

I bought a set of Polk DB692 6x9s for a good price on craigslist cause they got good reviews. The guy who sold them to me convinced me to buy this Pyle PLMRA410BT amp when I met him but upon getting home I checked out the reviews and it sounds like Pyle is generally a "pile" of you know what.

I've been doing a bunch of research but am feeling a bit lost as to what amp to get. Keep in mind the whole system will be running off of 12V battery. Probably gonna pick up a big ole 80ah battery as I need the system to last all day.

So far I understand I need a 4ohm amp as my speaker are 4ohms.
I also understand that 93db is a good sensitivity for speakers.
I am getting lost with continuous rating stuff cause I keep reading conflicting advice. Some people say to have an amp rated higher than your speakers. Others say to have speakers rated higher than your amp. The thing is... I wanna get this right. I want my #$%@ to sound good. Surely it's possible to optimize this stuff, which is why I'm here. :)

So I have a RMS rating of 150 watts and a peak of 450. I do not plan to use a sub-woofer as again, I am limited on power and I bought these speakers wanting to optimize for them as I've heard they have good bass.

So far I've come up with using the 75/150% rule on my RMS of 150 watts to determine I want an minimum of 112 watts per channel on my amp and a maximum of 225 watts per channel. For all I know this is not how I should be thinking of this. Again... I am rather confused.