Re-capping questions/help

Ive been around the forum here for about a year now and been collecting various polk models. I want to start updating all my crossovers.

Ive completed several mods, including h-nuts, sonic barrier, glued magnets and seams and also new gaskets where needed. I have not replaced tweeters yet, Due to wanting to do TL mods and just get all 198s.

Im new to crossovers so Im kind of lost on exactly what needs to be removed and replaced. Ive started a parts list for the 8 pairs I'd like to do. I want to TL my 5s, 7s, 11t, and 2bs as they all have sl2000's. The 4.6, 5jr+ and 8TLs all use sl2500.

Ive downloaded all the crossover pdfs. So from what I understand I should replace the capacitors and resistors, replace polyswitches with resistors and most the TL mods are done by adding a 5.8 uf capacitor in parallel with a 2 ohm resistor in the highpass section, plus a cap and inductor coil change. Which caps and resistors are preferred? Ive been looking on sonic craft. Does it make sense to get most of the parts fpr all the crossovers in pone shot to save on shipping?

Any and all help, answers and wisdom is appreciated. This is alot of info to take in and Im sure I've left alot out. Thanks!
Monitor 4.6, 5jr, 5, 7, 10, 11. RTA 8TL. RTA 11T. SDA 2B.

Comments

• F1nut
    F1nut Posts: 49,711
    The only non-TL ones that can be TL'd are the 2B's.
    Political Correctness'.........defined

"A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a t-u-r-d by the clean end."

President of Club Polk

• Schurkey
    Schurkey Posts: 2,100
    I suggest you leave the inductors alone, at least for now. Replacement inductors are tougher to source than capacitors, in part because Polk didn't specify what the DC resistance or even the wire gauge size is for the older models.